Church History

In 1958, Leslie Ellsworth envisioned a church in Sacramento. He started Calvary Temple in September 1958 with 17 people who met in a small building on the corner of Fruitridge Road and Franklin Boulevard. The church attendance grew to over 50 people. Pastor Ellsworth had an all-night prayer meeting to seek God for a permanent facility. After that night, God blessed them with property on Florin Road. Calvary Temple was built and dedicated on their 10-year anniversary on September 18, 1968. In 2005, Pastor Eddie Rentz was elected to lead the church. The church relocated to Elk Grove and changed its name to River City Community Church. Services were held at Toby Johnson Middle School for nearly six years. In the early years, the church gained strength and stability in the community. In August 2010, Andrew Huson became Lead Pastor at RiverCity Church. On April 24, 2011, RiverCity Church acquired a permanent facility in the heart of Elk Grove. RiverCity Church continues to be a vibrant, growing, spirit-filled, and world-missions-centered church.